Deputy Commissioner wins prestigious Dineen Award

Contact: Jennifer Bowen
(334) 269-3550


Alabama Department of Insurance Deputy Commissioner and Chief Actuary Charles Angell has been awarded the Robert Dineen Award for Outstanding Service and Contribution to the State Regulation of Insurance.


The award, presented annually by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, recognizes those who have made significant contributions to insurance regulation. It is the highest award an insurance regulator can receive.


Angell has served in both the insurance industry and government for five decades, joining the Alabama Department of Insurance in 2008. He became deputy commissioner in 2009.


While at ALDOI, Angell has become a sought-out expert in both the insurance industry and in the media, lending his expertise generously and frequently.


He has participated in more than a dozen NAIC task forces and work groups dealing with property and casualty insurance and consumer issues.


On the NAIC’s Big Data (EX) Working Group, Angell led in drafting a proposal to share state resources in the review of complex industry models used in rate filings. 


On the NAIC/Consumer Liaison Committee, he has been a regular participant and presenter, providing his expertise and information on efforts to reform coastal property insurance and the state’s cooperative efforts with the Insurance Institute for Business & Home Safety (IBHS), Smart Home America and the Alabama Insurance Underwriting Association (AIUA), also known as the coastal “wind pool.”


Angell has advocated for the fortification of homes in coastal Alabama and served on the Coastal Insurance Working Group at the appointment of then Gov. Robert Bentley.  The group focused on addressing the property insurance needs of those living and working along Alabama’s Gulf Coast.


Angell was instrumental in the 2012 passage of state legislation to establish the Strengthen Alabama Homes (SAH) program allowing the state to make grants to coastal area residents to fortify their homes against storm damage. 


Angell was named the 2016 Alabama Executive Branch State Employee of the Year.


He is a native of Miami, FL, and has both undergraduate and graduate degrees in mathematics.


The Dineen Award has been presented every year since 1989. It is named for Robert Dineen, the founder of the NAIC’s Support and Services division. Previous winners from the ALDOI are Life and Health Actuary Steve Ostlund, winner in 2010, and former Commissioner David Parsons, winner in 2004