Proof of Citizenship
**PLEASE READ THIS PAGE IN ITS ENTIRETY BEFORE APPLYING FOR A NEW LICENSE!!
For INITIAL Application: Effective December 15, 2015, ALL Individual Resident and Non-Resident Alabama applicants
must submit proof of citizenship by clicking here before their license is issued.
This will also apply to Amendments and Reinstatements.
If a proof of citizenship is submitted more than 10 days before the application process it will not be kept on file and will have to be re-submitted once the application process is begun.
In accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, Alabama is now required to verify the citizenship of ALL APPLICANTS.
There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver’s license (front and back), any one of which can be used as proof.
The following states whose driver’s license DOES NOT qualify as a document to be used as Proof of Citizenship per the Beason-Hammon law
are California, Colorado (Unless it is a Star Driver’s License based on Real ID Act), Connecticut (Unless it is the new Verified Driver’s License),
Delaware (Unless it is an iDelaware Card, with a Star in upper right corner), Hawaii, Illinois (Unless it is a Real ID Driver’s License issued after
July 1, 2016), Maryland (Unless it is a Real ID Driver’s License issued after June 20, 2016 with a star in upper right),
New Mexico, Nevada (Unless it is a Real ID Driver's License), Utah, Vermont (Unless it is a Real ID Driver’s license issued in 2014 or later and has the Gold Star in upper right corner), Washington (Unless it is an Enhanced Driver’s License or a CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) issued after 9-1-15),
and District of Columbia (Unless it is a Real ID Driver's License issued after May 1, 2014 with star in upper right).
For a list of all valid identifiers, please click here.
All Transactions requiring Citizenship verification will be deferred for state review. Documentation must be received before the license will be
renewed or issued. If the documentation is not received within 10 days after submission, the application will be declined.
Please note: Fees paid are non-refundable.
DO NOT SUBMIT your Proof of Citizenship until you are in the process of applying for a license.
Click HERE to apply for a license AFTER you have submitted your Proof of Citizenship.