What is an Apprentice Adjuster?
An "apprentice adjuster" is a person who, must be supervised by actively licensed Independent Adjuster who can only supervise up to 5 Apprentices at once
Ala. Code § 27-9A-3.
Apprentice Adjuster License
(new license type / 12 month - 1 time Only temporary license
- Apprentice Adjuster Property and Casualty, including Workers’ Compensation and Crop
- Apprentice Adjuster Property and Casualty, excluding Workers’ Compensation and Crop
- Apprentice Adjuster Workers’ Compensation
- Apprentice Adjuster Crop
- Be 18 years of age or more.
- Apprentice must be supervised by actively licensed Independent Adjuster who can only supervise up to 5 Apprentices at once.
- Please apply for license via NIPR.
Apprentice Adjuster licenses will need to complete the appropriate exam and fingerprinting by expiration date of the license. It is our recommendation
that exams are to be taken and passed, and you are to be fingerprinted at least ONE WEEK prior to expiration of Adjuster Apprentice licenses. This will
allow time for electronic conversion without applicants having to reapply.
PROOF OF CITIZENSHIP REQUIREMENT
In accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, Alabama is now required to verify the citizenship of ALL APPLICANTS.
Please submit proof of citizenship using the link below. There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver’s license, any
one of which can be used as proof. Your license will not be issued until this documentation is received. If information is not received within
10 days your application will be rejected. Please note: Fees paid are non-refundable.
Submit Proof of Citizenship
Effective April 1, 2015, all individual resident applicants seeking to become licensed as Adjusters, or who are adding a new line of authority
to an existing Adjuster license, must have completed a Fingerprint background check. You should seek to get fingerprinted after passing the state
exam and one day before applying for the license.
Please be aware the fingerprint results will remain in our system only 30 days after you are fingerprinted. If the application reaches the DOI after
those 30 days you will have to get fingerprinted again and again pay the required fee. **Note: The Department can only utilize fingerprints processed
through Fieldprint. We also cannot accept fingerprints completed for any reason outside of pursuing an insurance license from the Alabama Department of
Insurance. The fingerprints will be utilized to conduct a federal and state criminal background check per Producer fingerprint requirements:
Ala. Code § 27-7-4.4, Adjuster fingerprint
requirements: Ala. Code § 27-9A-17 and
Title agent fingerprint requirements: Ala. Code § 27-25-4.6. Being
possessed of sound mind and legally competent to complete this request, the applicant authorizes the Alabama Department of Insurance, to obtain any and
all criminal history information on said applicant from the ALEA and/or FBI. Applicant may challenge or appeal any portion of his/her own Criminal History
Record Information (CHRI) that he/she believes to be incomplete or inaccurate by contacting the Records & Identification Division within ALEA 334-353-4340.
Follow instructions on this link: https://fieldprintalabama.com
NO RENEWAL OF THIS LICENSE
Licensing Contact Hours
Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm
Please Chat with Us if you have any questions.