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Rule 482-1-002-.01  Purpose, Scope and Authority. 

(1) The purpose of this chapter is to formalize the practice within the Department 
of Insurance preceding the effective date of this chapter and set various fees and fine 
amounts authorized in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11 (2002), a part of the Alabama Preneed 
Funeral and Cemetery Act, Ala. Code §§ 27-17A-1, et seq. (2002), adjusted according to 
Alabama Act No. 2015-441. 

(2) This chapter shall apply to all persons subject to the Alabama Preneed Funeral 
and Cemetery Act. 

(3) This chapter is adopted pursuant to Ala. Code §§ 27-2-17 (1975) and 27-17A-
11 (2002). 

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance 
Ala. Code §§ 27-2-17, 27-17A-11, & 41-1-11 
History:  New October 18, 2012, effective October 28, 2012; Revised December 8, 2015, 
Effective January 13, 2016 

Rule 482-3-002-.02  Preneed Fees and Fines.  The following fees and fines are hereby 
established and confirmed: 

(a) Initial certificate of authority fee, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27-
17A-11(d)(1)  ....................................................................................................................  $198 

(b) Annual renewal of certificate of authority fee, as permitted in Ala. 
Code § 27-17A-11(d)(1)  ....................................................................................................  $99 

(c) Branch registration fee, initial and annual renewal, as permitted in 
Ala. Code § 27-17A-11(d)(2)  ..........................................................................................  $198 

(d) Fine for each day the certificate holder fails to file its annual 
statement, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11(h)  .......................................................  $50 

(e) Transfer of certificate of authority fee, as permitted in Ala. Code § 
27-17A-11(j)  ....................................................................................................................  $132 

(f) Fine for each day the certificate holder fails to file its statement of 
activities of the trust, as permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11(h)  ......................................  $50 

(g) Transfer of certificate of authority (branch registration) fee, as 
permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-11(j) ............................................................................  $132 

(h) Preneed sales agent application fee, initial and annual renewal, as 
permitted in Ala. Code § 27-17A-18(g) & (j)  ....................................................................  $33 

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance 
Ala. Code §§ 27-2-17, 27-17A-11, & 41-1-11 
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History:  New October 18, 2012, effective October 28, 2012; Revised December 8, 2015, 
Effective January 13, 2016; Revised June 10, 2021, Effective June 20, 2021 

Rule 482-3-002-.03  Severability and Effective Date. 

(1) If any rule or portion of a rule or its applicability to any person or 
circumstance is held invalid by a court, the remainder of this chapter or the applicability 
of the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected. 

(2) This chapter shall become effective upon its approval by the Commissioner of 
Insurance and upon its having been on file as a public document in the office of the 
Secretary of State for ten days, and upon its having been on file with the Legislative 
Reference Service for 35 days, subject to review by the Joint Committee on 
Administrative Regulation Review. 

Author:  Commissioner of Insurance 
Statutory Authority:  Ala. Code §§ 27-2-17 & 27-17A-11 
History:  New October 18, 2012, effective October 28, 2012; Revised December 8, 2015, 
Effective January 13, 2016 


