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482-2-103-.01.  Permit Fees.  The State Fire Marshal hereby sets the following fees as 
are declared necessary for the administration and enforcement of Chapter 33 of Title 34, 
Code of Alabama 1975, known as the Fire Protection Sprinkler Systems Act: 

 

(a) Initial Application Fee for Contractor Permit ..............................................$100 

(b) Annual Renewal Fee for Contractor Permit .................................................$100 

(c) Annual Skilled Worker Exemption Certificate (per worker) .......................$100 

In the event a permit lapses for non-renewal, the holder must submit a new application 
and pay the Initial Application Fee. 

Author:  State Fire Marshal 
Statutory Authority:  Code of Alabama 1975, §§ 27-2-17 & 34-33-2 
History:  New September 11, 2003, Effective October 1, 2003; Revised May 7, 2007, 
Effective June 1, 2007; Revised November 9, 2010, Effective November 22, 2010. 

 

482-2-103-.02  Skilled Employee Exemption. 

 (1)  Skilled employees of a fire protection sprinkler system owner are not required 
to hold a fire protection sprinkler system contractor permit in order to perform and certify 
to the weekly fire pump testing on the owner’s systems required by National Fire 
Protection Association Standard for Water Based Fire Protection Systems (NFPA 
Standard 25). The State Fire Marshal will issue a certificate of exemption to an employer 
for each such employee who meets the requirements of this regulation.   
 

(2)  An employer seeking an exemption for an employee must apply to the State 
Fire Marshal for a certificate of exemption on forms prescribed by the State Fire Marshal 
for that purpose. A $100.00 fee must be paid with each application. With the application 
the employer must submit documentation (i) that the employee has satisfactorily 
completed a course of training in pump maintenance and testing specific to the pump 
equipment the employee is responsible for, and (ii) that, based on observation of the 
employee’s performance of a pump test, the certified fire protection sprinkler system 
contractor responsible for overall maintenance of the employer’s system certifies to the 
employee’s ability to perform testing on the specific pump equipment the employee is 
responsible for.    
 

(3)  A certificate of exemption authorizes the named employee to perform and 
certify to weekly pump testing required by NFPA Standard 25 without holding a fire 
protection sprinkler system contractor permit. A certificate is limited to (i) the employee 
named and (ii) the specific pump equipment identified in the certificate (which must be 
located on or within the employer’s premises). The certificate is not transferable. If the 

 (11/2010) 
 



ALABAMA FIRE MARSHAL REGULATION 
Chapter 482-2-103 

 

Page 3 
 (11/2010) 

 

employee leaves employment, the certificate is void as of the date employment 
terminates. Within seven (7) business days after the employee’s termination date, the 
owner/employer shall notify the State Fire Marshal in writing of the employee’s name, 
certificate number, and the employment termination date.    

 
(4)  A certificate does not authorize an employee to perform pump testing on 

equipment not specified in the certificate or as to any system that is not located on the 
employer’s premises or owned by the employer or to engage in any activity for which a 
fire protection sprinkler contractor permit is otherwise required.   
 

(5)  A certificate is valid until the earlier to occur of one year after its issue date 
or the date the employee separates from employment. A certificate may be renewed on an 
annual basis by payment of a $100.00 renewal fee.   

 
Author: State Fire Marshal. 
Statutory Authority: Ala. Code §§ 27-2-17, 34-33-2, 34-33-3, 36-19-2, 36-19-9.  
History: New May 7, 2007, Effective June 1, 2007. 
 


