Fraud Bureau


Mission Statement:

The Fraud Unit protects the public from economic harm by investigating allegations of criminal insurance fraud. Responsibilities include receiving and reviewing reports of fraud, initiating inquiries and conducting investigations when the Department has reason to believe that insurance fraud may have been or is being committed. We actively seek criminal indictments, make arrests and assist in prosecutions to deter insurance fraud in Alabama.

 



In 2016, the fraud unit had three investigators and one supervisor.  In February 2017, we added four new fraud investigators giving us a total of seven in addition to one forensic examiner and one supervisor.

  • Total No. of cases worked in 2016:  185
  • No. of 2016 cases from Fraud Tip-Line:  57
  • No. of cases closed in 2016: 145
    • No. of cases closed with criminal charges: 23  (27 persons arrested)
    • No. of cases closed in 2016 by No Prosecution: 28
    • No. of cases closed in 2016 by Other: 21
    • No. of cases closed by Lack of Info: 8
    • No. of cases closed by Statute of Limitations: 9
    • No. of cases rendered UNFOUNDED: 11
    • No. of cases rendered INACTIVE: 45
Click Here for January 1 - May 31 Statistics





Name Position Contact
Scott Pilgreen State Fire Marshal 334-241-4166
Jim Finn Assistant Director James.Finn@insurance.alabama.gov
or 334-240-6526
Bart Lonergan  Fraud Investigator James.Lonergan@insurance.alabama.gov
Jimmy Collier  Fraud Investigator Jimmy.Collier@insurance.alabama.gov
Larry Coleman, Jr.  Fraud Investigator Larry.Coleman@insurance.alabama.gov
Matthew Tucker  Fraud Investigator Matthew.Tucker@insurance.alabama.gov
Patrick Crockett  Fraud Investigator Patrick.Crockett@insurance.alabama.gov
Roderick Reed Special Agent Roderick.Reed@insurance.alabama.gov
William Gordon  Fraud Investigator William.Gordon@insurance.alabama.gov
Cristi Owen Forensic Fraud Examiner Cristi.Owen@insurance.alabama.gov