Registration and Renewal Of Preneed Sales Agents
Preneed sales agents are registered through holders of Preneed Certificates of Authority
(certificate holders). Only an authorized signer of a certificate holder may register, terminate, or renew
preneed sales agents.
Preneed Sales Agent Registration
Each person selling preneed merchandise and services and/or cemetery merchandise
and services must be registered. A certificate holder must have at least one registered preneed sales agent. The certificate holder
and preneed sales agent applicant must complete their respective part of Form No.
AL-PNS-4 (01/2016). Click
download the form. The completed form along with the $30.00
registration fee and evidence of citizenship (such as a driver’s license) or evidence of lawful presence in accordance with the Beason-Hammon Alabama Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, should be mailed to:
Alabama Department of Insurance
P. O. Box 303351
Montgomery, AL 36130-3351
For further details regarding the Beason-Hammon Alabama Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act or to submit evidence online, visit: https://aldoi.gov/LicenseeCZ/Initial.aspx
Preneed Sales Agent Termination
A certificate holder who has registered a preneed sales agent must notify the Department
in writing within 30 days after the individual’s status as preneed sales agent has
been terminated. The notice can be faxed to: (334) 206-6347, e-mailed
to Preneed@insurance.alabama.gov or
mailed to the above address. Include the certificate holder’s company name, certificate of authority number, the
name of the PSA being terminated, and his/her license number in the notification.
Renewal of Preneed Sales Agent Registrations
Renewal of Preneed Sales Agents Registrations must be processed electronically through the National Producer Registry (NIPR). Electronic Processing through NIPR is mandatory. Click
here for instructions on how to renew online through NIPR.
If an active agent does not appear on the renewal invoice, contact the Preneed Division
at (334) 240-4420.