
        STATE OF ALABAMA                                                                                PB-Y 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

ANNUAL PREMIUM TAX STATEMENT - DOMESTIC PROPERTY AND CASUALTY BUSINESS 
for the Year Ending December 31, __________ 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

PENALTIES – Any Company failing to file its Premium Tax Return (even when no tax is due) or failing to pay such taxes on a timely  
basis shall be subject to a penalty of $1,000 to $10,000, to be assessed by the Commissioner.   
 
RETURNS MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE DUE DATE TO BE ACCEPTED AS TIMELY FILED.   
 
Please refer to the NAIC Checklist at http://www.aldoi.gov/PDF/Companies/PandC.pdf for further instructions. (Notes D,Q &R)  
( ) The Alabama Office Facilities Credit Worksheet must accompany this Return if paying at a rate less than the 3.6% maximum. 
( ) The Coastal Incentive Credit Worksheet must accompany this Return if this credit is taken. 
( ) Make checks payable to: Alabama Department of Insurance.   
( ) Please submit TWO CHECKS:  one in payment of Fees, and one in payment of Premium Taxes due the State of Alabama. 
( ) Please mail the Annual Premium Tax Return and checks to: 
 
         POSTAL  SERVICE             COURIER  OR   EXPRESS SERVICE 

Alabama Department of Insurance    Alabama Department of Insurance 
 c/o Compass Bank         c/o Compass Bank 
 P. O. Box 830691      701 South 32nd Street 
 Birmingham, AL  35283-0691     Birmingham, AL  35233 
 
 
                              ________________________________________________________________________ 
         Name of Company   
 
  ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
   Company’s Mailing Address  
 
   _____________________________________________________________________      __________________________________   
    Preparer’s Name and Title (Print)    Telephone Number     E-Mail Address 
 
 LICENSE RENEWAL FEES  

 
FEES:   Renewal of Certificate of Authority     

                            ($505, $1,005 or $1,505-Please see instructions) 
 

              Annual Statement Filing Fee:  $25 
           Check No.____________________                        

 
   

 
STATE OF _______________________________________.  COUNTY OF _________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________, President and _____________________________________________Secretary 
 
of the ___________________________________________________________________________________________Insurance Company 
being duly sworn, each for himself, deposes and says, that they are the above described officers of said Company and that the foregoing 
statement of business transacted during such year and showing the true status of same on December 31, of such year, is full and correct 
according to the best of their information, knowledge and belief, respectively. 
 
Subscribed & sworn before me this ___________________________ _______________________________________ President 
 
Day of _____________________, 20  ___________.    _______________________________________ Secretary 
 
My commission expires _____________________________________ ___________________________________  Notary Public 
 

--OVER – 
 
 
 
 
 

Revised 10/6/2014 

NAIC# ____________________ 

PI    $ ___________________ 

PJ    $ ______25.00_____ 

http://www.aldoi.gov/PDF/Companies/PandC.pdf


STATE OF ALABAMA     PB-Y 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

DOMESTIC PROPERTY AND CASUALTY BUSINESS 
for the Year Ending December 31, _____________ 

NAME OF COMPANY________________________________________________________ 
PREMIUM less DIVIDEND & RETURNS 

                  TAX RATE  TAX   
 1. Property & multi-peril insurance 
 written in fire protection 
 classes 9 & 10 **                9N10--                    X 1.0%_ = $_______________ 
 2. Mobile homes and low value 
 dwelling policies with a face       MHLD--                       X 1.0%_ = $_______________ 
 value of $40,000 or less **              
 3. All other business                  AOB---             X _____ = $_______________ 
      (maximum rate: 3.6%)     
  
 4.  HEALTH:                            
 a) Groups with less than      GL50---      X _.5%_ = $_______________ 
  50 participants ** 
      b)    Other Health **             OH--- 

         
LESS:  Medicare & Medicaid      MMP--    
  Supplement policies        
LESS:  Employer sponsored Plans  EGP-- 
         for govt. employees 
            

              TOTAL TAXABLE OTHER HEALTH        TOP--        x   1.6%  = $_______________ 
 
5. GROSS PREMIUM TAX DUE:                                                                                                                      $_______________ 
               
6.           DEDUCTIONS (must provide invoice and verification of payment): 

a) Ad valorem taxes paid on insurer’s principal office in AL   $_______________________ 
 

b) Ad valorem taxes paid on property 50% occupied in AL     $_______________________   ADV----   
c) Ad valorem taxes paid directly or in the form of rent to  

a 3rd party landlord on offices in AL, by square foot area   $_______________________            
  
 d) All assessments paid during the year to the Alabama Health Insurance Plan (AHIP)    AHIP----   
                                       
                  e)              All examination expenses paid to the Alabama Commissioner of Insurance                  EXAM--- 

    
f)         60% of Alabama franchise and privilege taxes paid             FT--- 

 
  
                  g)             20% of Guaranty Fund Assessments for each of 5 years following the year of payment     GFA---     
 
      
 7. Total Deductions (total of lines 6a – 6g)               Totaled--   

 
 8. NET PREMIUM TAX DUE BEFORE CAPCO (line 5 less 7; if 7 is greater, enter zero)                                $_________________________ 
 
 9. LESS: CAPCO CREDIT AND/OR NEW MARKETS TAX CREDIT  

*Only investors who have been allocated a premium tax credit pursuant to AL code        $_________________________ 
                                                           section 40-14B and/or Act 2012-483 are eligible for these credits 
 10.  LESS:  COASTAL CREDIT * Only insurers who have obtained policies from AIUA and have been awarded       $_________________________    
                                                                  the credit pursuant to AL code section 27-1-24.1 
. 
 11. NET TAXES DUE AFTER CAPCO, COASTAL & New Markets CREDITS (line 8 less lines 9 and 10) $_________________________ 
 
 12. LESS: Quarterly Premium Tax Payments                    $_________________________ 
 
 13. LESS: Prior Year Overpayment        $_________________________ 
 
 14. PREMIUM TAX PAID (line 11 less lines 12 and 13)                PB----  
 
**Line items 1, 2,  4a and 4b-(tax-exempt premiums only) require supporting documentation.  A policy run, which can be obtained from the Company’s underwriting 
unit will suffice as documentation.  
 
 
Revised 10/6/2014 

NAIC# ______________ 

 

$______________________  
     Total 6a – 6c 

$______________________
 

$______________________
 

$______________________
 

$______________________ 

$______________________ 

$______________________
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