• Consumers


  • Producers/Agents


  • Companies


License Renewals


The Alabama Department of Insurance is requiring all renewals to be handled electronically. Effective September 29, 2008, the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) will be processing the online renewals through their website. The Alabama Department of Insurance will not accept paper renewal forms. Any paper renewal forms will be returned and you will be directed to use the online process.

AS OF 10-1-2014 - ALL RENEWAL NOTICES ARE NOW BEING E-MAILED TO ALL LICENSEES THAT ARE DUE TO RENEW. E-MAIL ADDRESSES MUST BE KEPT CURRENT, OR AS LAW PROVIDES, E-MAIL ADDRESS VIOLATIONS MAY RESULT IN A MONETARY PENALTY.

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

In accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, Alabama is now required to verify the citizenship of ALL APPLICANTS. Please submit proof of citizenship using the link below. There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver’s license, any one of which can be used as proof. Your license will not be renewed until this documentation is received. If information is not received within 10 days your application will be rejected. Please note: Fees paid are non-refundable.
Submit Proof of Citizenship

Select the License Type you wish to renew.













Producer (Individuals)

Individual Producer licenses are renewed in the Producer’s birth month biennially based on the producer’s birth year. The license may be renewed as early as 45 days before the end of the licensee’s birth month, and within a grace period of 30 days after the last day of their birth month with a late fee of $50 added to the regular renewal fee. If not renewed before the end of the grace period, the license will be expired.

Upon expiration of your license, you are eligible to reinstate your license for a period of more than 30 days after expiration to 12 months from the last day of your birth month without the necessity of completing the prelicensing course or passing a written examination by paying twice the renewal fee and for residents by also completing required CE. However, you must complete the Reissue Process through NIPR, by beginning on our website (www.aldoi.gov) home page under Producers/Agents, the Renew Your License link and then click on the license type, then Renew Your License Residents.

In order to complete your license renewal, you will have to have met your Continuing Education requirements prior to the time that you complete the online renewal process. To ensure that all your Continuing Education credits have been reported to the Alabama Department of Insurance, please view your Continuing Education records (click here to view CE records).

If you have not met your Continuing Education requirements and you need to request an extension,  click here to request an extension prior to renewing your license. Beginning January 1, 2013, excess credit hours earned in the previous biennial renewal period cannot be carried over to the next reporting period. Any excess is lost.

Current CE Exemptions:

(b)Any producer whose license is limited to acting only as a producer for credit insurance, rental vehicle insurance, crop, portable electronic, travel, motor club, dental services, and legal services, or any combination thereof.
(c) Any nonresident producer or service representative who must complete the continuing education requirements in his or her state of residence. The home state's requirements may be used to meet this state's continuing education requirements if that state recognizes reciprocity with Alabama's continuing education requirements. A non-resident whose home state does not have a continuing education requirement or whose home state does not recognize reciprocity with Alabama's continuing education requirements, must meet the continuing education requirements of this state.
(d) Newly licensed producers and service representatives for 12 months following the effective date of their license.

NOTE:

Please note as of January 1, 2013 Grandfathered CE Exemptions allowed are:

(e) Any individual exempt from the educational requirements of Ala. Code § 27-8A-1 immediately prior to January 1, 2013, so long as the individual remains exempt according to the law at that time, unless the license is permitted to expire or is otherwise terminated and remains out of effect for a period of 12 consecutive months, in which case the exemption is no longer applicable. To maintain an exemption from continuing education requirements, the individual must submit a statement and dated evidence that the exemption claimed applied prior to January 1, 2013, and continues in effect at the time of license renewal. Any change in the claimed exemption, such as loss of certification or position shall result in loss of the claimed exemption for subsequent renewal periods. Individuals may claim an exemption if any of the following apply subject to the terms outlined above:

1. Any person licensed only for limited lines insurance, industrial fire, commonly known as debit fire, insurance, or any combination thereof prior to January 1, 2013.
2. All producers and service representatives licensed in this state for 15 years and at least 60 years of age or older prior to January 1, 2013.
3. Any person who holds a designation as a Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriter, Certified Insurance Counselor, Chartered Life Underwriter, Chartered Financial Consultant, Certified Financial Planner certificant, Registered Health Underwriter, Registered Employee Benefits Consultant, Certified Health Consultant, or Associate Risk Manager prior to January 1, 2013.
4. Officers of insurers who are not engaged in the active sale of products prior to January 1, 2013.
5. Persons who are active members of the Alabama legislature during any portion of the biennial reporting period prior to January 1, 2013.

In accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, Alabama is now required to verify the citizenship of ALL APPLICANTS. Please submit proof of citizenship using the link below. There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver’s license, any one of which can be used as proof. Your license will not be renewed until this documentation is received. If information is not received within 10 days your application will be rejected. Please note: Fees paid are non-refundable.
Submit Proof of Citizenship

Following renewal of your license, you will be able to print one free copy of your license. Please allow processing time of at least 24 hours prior to printing your license.

Business Entity

Producer Business Entity licenses are renewed biennially. Producer Business Entities are allowed to renew their license online between October 15th and December 31st (EVEN YEARS) with a renewal fee of $100. If you fail to renew by January 1st, a $50 late fee will be added to the regular renewal fee. If license is not renewed before January 30th (ODD YEARS), the license will be expired.

If you fail to renew by this date you will have to reapply online with a new application and licensing fees.

Surplus Line Broker (Individuals)

Surplus Line Broker licenses are renewed annually. Surplus Line Broker- Individuals are allowed to renew their license online between October 1st and December 31st with a renewal fee of $200. If license is not renewed before January 1st, the license will be expired.

  • Renew Your License (Residents)
  • Renew Your License (Non-Residents)
  • Non-Resident Individual - In accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, Alabama is now required to verify the citizenship of ALL APPLICANTS. Please submit proof of citizenship using the link below. There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver’s license, any one of which can be used as proof. Your license will not be renewed until this documentation is received. If information is not received within 10 days your application will be rejected. Please note: Fees paid are non-refundable.
    Submit Proof of Citizenship

Surplus Line Broker Business Entity

Surplus Line Broker-Business Entity licenses are renewed annually. Surplus Line Broker-Business Entities are allowed to renew their license online between October 1st and December 31st with a renewal fee of $500. If license is not renewed before January 1st, the license will be expired.

Adjuster (Resident)

Adjuster licenses are renewed biennially. Adjusters are allowed to renew their license online 45 days prior to their birth month until the last day of their birth month, with a renewal fee of $80. If your license is not renewed by the last day of the birth month, the license is given a 30 day grace period with a $40.00 late fee plus the $80.00 renewal fee. If your license is not renewed by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day grace period the license will then be expired and have a 365 day reinstatement period from the last day of your birth month with a $160.00 fee.

BEGINNING APRIL 1, 2015, IF NO CE IS SHOWN IN THE CE TRANSCRIPT FOR THE INDIVIDUAL SEEKING TO GET RENEWED, THE ONLINE RENEWAL APPLICATION WILL BE REJECTED AND THE ADJUSTER WILL HAVE TO RESUBMIT A NEW RENEWAL APPLICATION WITH APPROPRIATE FEES ONCE CE IS SHOWING IN THEIR TRANSCRIPT.

In accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, Alabama is now required to verify the citizenship of ALL APPLICANTS. Please submit proof of citizenship using the link below. There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver’s license, any one of which can be used as proof. Your license will not be renewed until this documentation is received. If information is not received within 10 days your application will be rejected. Please note: Fees paid are non-refundable.
Submit Proof of Citizenship

Adjuster (Non-resident)

Adjuster licenses are renewed biennially. Adjusters are allowed to renew their license online 45 days prior to their birth month until the last day of their birth month, with a renewal fee of $80. If your license is not renewed by the last day of the birth month, the license is given a 30 day grace period with a $40.00 late fee plus the $80.00 renewal fee. If your license is not renewed by the last day of your birth month or your 30 day grace period the license will then be expired and have a 365 day reinstatement period from the last day of your birth month with a $160.00 fee.

If you are a non-resident that is from a state that does not license Adjusters and you have a Designated Home State you can renew your license online through NIPR, using your Designated Home State.

BEGINNING APRIL 1, 2015, IF NO CE IS SHOWN IN THE CE TRANSCRIPT FOR THE INDIVIDUAL SEEKING TO GET RENEWED, THE ONLINE RENEWAL APPLICATION WILL BE REJECTED AND THE ADJUSTER WILL HAVE TO RESUBMIT A NEW RENEWAL APPLICATION WITH APPROPRIATE FEES ONCE CE IS SHOWING IN THEIR TRANSCRIPT.

In accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, Alabama is now required to verify the citizenship of ALL APPLICANTS. Please submit proof of citizenship using the link below. There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver’s license, any one of which can be used as proof. Your license will not be renewed until this documentation is received. If information is not received within 10 days your application will be rejected. Please note: Fees paid are non-refundable.
Submit Proof of Citizenship

Reinsurance Intermediary

Reinsurance Intermediary Licensees will NOT be able to renew electronically. You must complete the AL-RI-1 form and return it to the Department of Insurance along with the amount due.

Service Representative

Service Representative Licenses are renewed in the individual’s birth month biennially based on the licensee’s birth year. The license may be renewed as early as 45 days before the end of the licensee’s birth month, and within a grace period of 30 days after the last day of their birth month with a late fee of $50 added to the regular renewal fee. If not renewed before the end of the grace period, the license will be expired.

Upon expiration of your license, you are eligible to reinstate your license for a period of 12 months from the last day of your birth month without the necessity of completing the prelicensing course or passing a written examination. However, you must complete the Reissue Process through NIPR, by beginning on our website (www.aldoi.gov) home page under Producers/Agents, the Renew Your License link and then click on the license type, then Renew Your License Residents.

In order to complete your license renewal, you will have to have met your Continuing Education requirements prior to the time that you complete the online renewal process. To ensure that all your Continuing Education credits have been reported to the Alabama Department of Insurance, please view your Continuing Education records (click here to view CE records).

If you have not met your Continuing Education requirements and you need to request an extension,  click here to request an extension prior to renewing your license.

In accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, Alabama is now required to verify the citizenship of ALL APPLICANTS. Please submit proof of citizenship using the link below. There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver’s license, any one of which can be used as proof. Your license will not be renewed until this documentation is received. If information is not received within 10 days your application will be rejected. Please note: Fees paid are non-refundable.
Submit Proof of Citizenship

Following renewal of your license, you will be able to print one free copy of your license. Please allow processing time of at least 24 hours prior to printing your license.

Managing General Agent

Managing General Agents will NOT be able to renew electronically. You must complete the
AL-MGA-4 form and return it to the Department of Insurance along with the amount due.

Title Insurance Agent

Title Insurance Individual Agents are renewed in the Title Agent's birth month biennially based on the Title Agent’s birth year. The license may be renewed beginning 75 days prior to expiration date, and within a grace period of 30 days after expiration date with a fee of $90. If not renewed before the end of the grace period, the license will be expired.

Upon expiration of your license, you are eligible to reinstate your license for a period of 12 months from the last day of your birth month without the necessity of completing the prelicensing course or passing a written examination, however, you must complete the Reissue Process through NIPR.

In order to complete your license renewal, you will have to have met your Continuing Education requirements prior to the time that you complete the online renewal process. To ensure that all your Continuing Education credits have been reported to the Alabama Department of Insurance, please view your Continuing Education records. (click here to view CE Records).

In accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act, Alabama is now required to verify the citizenship of ALL APPLICANTS. Please submit proof of citizenship using the link below. There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver’s license, any one of which can be used as proof. Your license will not be renewed until this documentation is received. If information is not received within 10 days your application will be rejected. Please note: Fees paid are non-refundable.
Submit Proof of Citizenship

Renewal of Preneed Sales Agent Registrations

Renewal of Preneed Sales Agents Registrations must be processed electronically through the National Producer Registry (NIPR). Electronic Processing through NIPR is mandatory. Click here for instructions on how to renew online through NIPR.

If an active agent does not appear on the renewal invoice, contact the Producer Licensing Division at (334) 241-4197.